Group 4 – Mermaid River Blog Post #3

Hello again!

So, yeah, I have not had too much work done this week unfortunately. This has been due to sickness and the like. But enough about that, onto what has been happening as of late.

So after a successful alpha build we have now moved onto work for the Beta build. Originally we had planned to have more things in the game, such as a regular pick up that does not affect the player like with a power up. This is to give the player incentive to collect as many of them as possible to get a high score. We also had an additional enemy planned to give some variation in the enemy driven challenges given to the player. But due to time constraint and some general hinderance here and there we have not managed to pull this off.

So for now we are focusing on creating another enemy amongst other things. However, as we have not created an design for the enemy yet I have not had any design to animate for. Sure, I can do some general animations and ideas, but to really give each animation its own character I need to know what I am animating for.

So, what have I done with my time instead? Well, I just recently found out about the tweening function of animation! What does tweening mean? It means that the program gives you in between frames for the key frames you have created to give you more of an idea what you should draw in between different frames to get the wanted flow out of it. I know that this will help out a great deal in the future! Like the seaweed animation shown here, at first it had half as many frames and therefor had much more of a whiplash look too it making it seem like it is whipping in the wind rather than gently flowing and waving back and forth in the water.

I may not have an design to animate, but things needed for the environment that are not given character can be animated with no issue, so that’s why I can still animate whilst the others are working on other things. Now imagine a ton of these things in bulk all with differing hues, size and sharpness to them. I think that this alongside other planned set pieces will really give life to the water as you are swimming through! I think that it is important to have an area such as a huge body of water to be like this one big living organism that houses millions of all kinds of creatures and plant life.

So yeah, hopefully I will be able to get a lot more varied work done in the upcoming week. Me and my team seem to be working a lot better and faster under pressure as it is, so I think that we can pull this off! And once again, best of luck to all of you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

